Thursday Night Throwdown on Opera Pulse…

Opera Pulse, Opera’s Online Voice, is a rich, engaging site (click the link above or visit my blogroll) for opera lovers on both sides of the curtain. They host a Thursday night Aria Throwdown on Facebook, where they pit famous opera singers singing the same aria against other beloved singers. 

This week, we were encouraged to vote on our favorite renditions of “Una Furtive Lagrima,”  from The Elixir of Love. Earlier this spring on opera-toonity, I posted a column with a  YouTube clip of Rolando Villazón singing “Una Furtiva Lagrima,” for which he received a five minute ovation. Wow! That was a thrilling clip. I got chills listening to his ovation. 

Anyhoo, based on listener feedback, the two finalists are Mario Lanza’s and Roberto Alagna’s versions. I could have chosen several others, but that wouldn’t help Opera Pulse determine a winner. 

Today, someone at work asked me for the name of my favorite flower of all time. (I said “lilac,” under pressure.) But answering that question is as difficult as selecting one favorite from among all the candidates proffered by Opera Pulse this week. 

Mario Lanza

 

But, there’s something about Mario Lanza’s voice that grabs me and doesn’t let go. So, I’m going with Mario Lanza. 

What do you think? Go to Opera Pulse and cast your vote for your favorite.

2 Comments

Filed under 21st Century Opera, Audience participation, Classic Opera, Performers

2 responses to “Thursday Night Throwdown on Opera Pulse…

  1. “This week, we were encouraged to vote on our favorite renditions of “Una Furtive Lagrima,” from The Elixir of Love. Earlier this spring on opera-toonity, I posted a column with a YouTube clip of Rolando Villazón singing “Una Furtiva Lagrima,” for which he received a five minute ovation. Wow! That was a thrilling clip. I got chills listening to his ovation.

    Anyhoo, based on listener feedback, the two finalists are Mario Lanza’s and Roberto Alagna’s versions. I could have chosen several others, but that wouldn’t help them determine a winner

    week, we were encouraged to vote on our favorite renditions of “Una Furtive Lagrima,” from The Elixir of Love. Earlier this spring on opera-toonity, I posted a column with a YouTube clip of Rolando Villazón singing “Una Furtiva Lagrima,” for which he received a five minute ovation. Wow! That was a thrilling clip. I got chills listening to his ovation.

    Anyhoo, based on listener feedback, the two finalists are Mario Lanza’s and Roberto Alagna’s versions. I could have chosen several others, but that wouldn’t help them determine a winner”

    This text is taken from the following website and please visit it and have your say .

    Thursday Night Throwdown on Opera Pulse…

    My take on this, well i do like Rolando Villazons version and as it says on the above website he had a 5 minute standing ovation for it. But i agree with the poster there, it has to be Mario Lanza for me, he stamped his unique vocal style on anything he sang!

    Steve Thorn

    http://www.tenorvoice.net

  2. Pingback: Lanza, Villazon or Alagna? | Famoustenorvoices's Blog